top of page

How to go to Guimaras from Iloilo City

Updated: Mar 29, 2019




I will share with you how I traveled to Guimaras (Jordan Wharf) from my hotel in Iloilo City.


I stayed at Ongbun Pension House which is located in the city proper so I could easily hail a taxi, tricycle and/or jeepney going to Ortiz Wharf.


Ortiz Wharf is a public boat terminal from Iloilo City going to Jordan Wharf (Guimaras).


First thing that I always do whenever I visit a place is to check the directions from the Google Map App. If it is walking distance or if it is 20 minutes or less by walk then I would stroll going to the site. Walking could save you a lot of money when you are on a trip.


Next is, I would check the available taxi or tricyle and ask a local or the receptionist how much is the fare going to the area. If the fare is affordable then I would go for it.


Lastly, I always prioritize to commute by bus or jeepney because I want to experience and be a local and not a tourist.



As you can see in the photo above, it’s only 16 minutes by walk and note that Grabtaxi is available in Iloilo City.


I chose to ride a jeepney going to Ortiz Wharf since the weather was nice on that day. Just look for the jeepney with a signage “CPU-Ortiz” route and ask the driver that you need to get off to Ortiz going to the boat terminal.




You have to log your name, address and phone number on the log sheet to monitor the people coming in and out the island for safety and security purposes.


Here are the prices as of November 2018 (Boat leaves every 15 minutes):


P15/person

Day Time: 5:00 am - 5:57 pm (max of 43 passengers per trip)


P22/person

Night Time: 6:00 pm (max of 32 passengers per trip)


Note that Senior Citizen, PWD (Person with disability), Students have to present their IDs for verification and get the discount.




Sample of the ticket managed by Jordan Motor Banca Cooperative



After you get your ticket, proceed to the designated waiting area and hop on the boat.





After 15 minutes of ride, you will reach Jordan Wharf in the island of Guimaras.


If you are looking for a tour, there is a tourism office after you get off the boat near the entrance. You could easily notice it because a lot of tourists log their information before exiting the premises.


I saw some vans, tricycles, multi-cabs outside the terminal. Just ask the local and I am very sure that they will be glad to help you.


For me, I was fetched by Sir Tommy Martir using his mountain bike going to their lodge where I stayed (Mountain Biker’s Hub). You can contact him at 0936-994-8528.


It’s quite different since I have to ride my own bike and I liked it! That is the start of my awesome adventure in the island of Guimaras. Check out my Mountain Biking Tour in Guimaras here.


 

Follow my social media accounts:


72 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page