top of page

My Korean Tourist Visa got approved!

Updated: Mar 26, 2019

We (Filipinos) dreamt and still dreaming to visit South Korea because of their rich culture, savoury food, and the Hallyu like Korean dramas and TV shows.


I would like to share with you on how I got approved for a Korean Tourist Visa (Single Entry) as a first time traveler.


Here is how the Korean Visa look like.



I took advantage of the BPI credit card promotion so I can get a higher chance and get approved easily. Submitting your BPI card can get you a multiple entry with the exemption of Financial Documents, however I only got approved for a single-entry.


Since I am working as a Travel Agent, it's easier for me to process the application with my counterparts (accredited travel agencies) and I don't need to visit their office anymore, unless required. I just need to send the required documents via a courier. Here are the requirements I provided.



1. BPI Credit Card

There are types of BPI cards that you can submit and that include the following cards below: •BPI Gold Master Cardholders : multiple-entry visa to Korea valid for 3 year. •BPI SkyMiles Platinum Master Card, BPI Amore Visa Platinum Card, BPI Signature Card holders : multiple-entry visa to Korea valid for 3 -5 years. •Gold BPI Express Teller Debit Cardholders : multiple-entry visa to Korea valid for 3-5 years.


For me, I sent the photocopy of my BPI Gold credit card. If you are booking with an accredited travel agencies, you may have to visit their office and provide the physical card.



2. BPI Billing Statements

They require me to provide the original BPI credit card billing statements for 3 months. If you are enrolled online and you don't have the original copies, you can just print it out from their website and go to the nearest BPI branch in your area and they will put a stamp with signature on your documents.


I suggest calling the branch first because some branches don't know how to handle this process. I went to two branches, the first one informed me that we need to call the BPI customer service and I have to pay a fee, while the second branch didn't ask me to pay anything. You just have to log-in online using your credentials to verify your identity and records then you can get it the same day.



3. Korean Visa Application Form

It's very important to fill out the application form with no erasure and accurately. You can download the form from Korean Embassy's website. Check it here. I will make a separate blog and video on how to fill out the form.


They requested for me to fill out the form electronically and not in writing. Please make sure to attach your Korean Visa photo on the first page. All the requirements must be done properly.


4. Business Permits

There are several categories depending on what type of purpose you are going to accomplish when visiting Korea. You can check the requirements here.


Since I have a partnership with them (accredited travel agencies) as a Travel Agent, I just need to submit my business permits as one of the requirement and I don't need to submit the financial statements as a privilege of the BPI credit card promotion. For employees, employment certificate is required and discretion of the embassy if they will ask for additional documents.


5. Passport

Lastly, your passport must be 6 months valid from the date of your travel. Better to renew your passport as early as you can to avoid delays and disapproval of your application. If you got approved, you can either get your passport at their office or you can request for it to be sent via a courier. Just let the travel agency know in advance so they can add the courier fee in your billing.


I took me 7-10 working days until I receive my passport with the approved visa. Please note that all this information is based on my experience and it's the Korean Embassy's discretion whether if they will approve or deny your application.


Nonetheless, never ever lose hope, as long as you provide the required paperwork then there is nothing to worry about especially if you have enough funds to cover your travel expenses.


I dreamt of getting approved for a Korean Visa too, just like everyone else. I got an impression that it's really tough and I couldn't do it but I kept on finding ways to reach one of my bucket lists and waited for the right time to do it.


Sabi nga nila "kung ayaw maraming dahilan, kung gusto maraming paraan". We just have to persevere and continue to dream.


Just comment down below if you have any questions and I will try my best to assist you. I can also help you process your VISA and other travel needs. Kindly contact me at travmagnetph@yahoo.com or use the contact form on my website.



55 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page