top of page

Questions That You May Want To Ask Japan Embassy Before Filing Your Japan Visa Application



Here are some unclear situations that I was able to clear things out with Japan Embassy and I asked these questions by contacting them at ryoji@ma.mofa.go.jp. Scenario 1: I got approved for a single entry visa and I would like to clarify if it is okay to change the place of destination from the initial application because I entered to arrive in Narita (Chiba) and I saw a promo fare going to Osaka. Do I need to submit another application again?  Response: You may enter Japan anywhere you prefer to even if you declared a different port of entry in your application.  You may use the visa issued to you until its validity date. 

Scenario 2: I would like to clarify if the business permits should also be in A4 paper because I printed it in Legal size to cover the whole document. Response: All documents must be in A4 form. 

Scenario 3: I am planning to travel to Japan this year by the end of August and my passport will expire on Feb 11, 2020. Can I still use my passport? 

Also, if I have an approved Japanese Visa and I have to renew my passport, Can I still show my old passport with a visa stamp and use it? or do I need to apply for another visa? Response: Yes on all your inquiries. 

Scenario 4: I am planning to apply for a Japanese Visa and I would like to know if the application form must be  filled out electronically or should it be handwritten? 

Response: Please fill-in application form according to your desire as long as it is legible and properly done.  Please make sure that your signature is handwritten and not electronically signed or else the agency/embassy would have to decline your application and you need to re-submit another form with a handwritten signature on it.

Scenario 5: I am planning to visit Japan next year and I would like to know your recommendation. Is it safe to book my flights and hotel first before getting a Japan Visa? I would like to do it DIY style and not a package.


Response: It would be better if you book your flight and hotel after securing a visa.  Please check our homepage for information, procedures and policies in applying for visa.  Please read it carefully.  Normally, visa is valid from 3 months from the date of issuance.  Processing takes a least 1 week from the date we received the application from chosen accredited agency.  If there is a need for verification of information  and documents, it takes longer time. 

Scenario 6: Is there a way to set a date for my travel in Japan? For example, I am going to apply this month, however I wish to travel next year end of March 2018 up until 1st week of April 2018. Around 1 week of stay in Tokyo or nearby city depending on the itinerary that I am going to make. I just want to have a lengthy time preparing for my trip since I am traveling solo.


Response: Normally, visa is valid for 3 months from date of issuance.  Please apply at least 2 months prior to your desired travel dates.


I can also assist you with your Japan Visa Application, kindly set an appointment here.

If you have any questions, you can comment below or ask Japan Embassy directly. Check their hotlines and other contact info. E-mail Address: ryoji@ma.mofa.go.jp Telephone Number Manila: (02) 834-7514  Cebu office: (032) 231-7321/231-7322  Davao office: (082) 221-3100/3200 JAPAN VISA INFORMATION HOTLINE

(PLDT LANDLINE, SMART sim, TNT mobile ONLY,24hours, 365days) English 180011180005 (Globe LANDLINE/sim, TM mobile ONLY, 24 hours, 365days) English 180087395252 (24hours, (automatic answering machine service) Japanese (+81) 3-5501-8431 ※ This hotline is designated for visa application residing in the Philippines. ※ If you are calling from the Philippines, you will be charged a domestic call fee for your call. ※ This hotline will only provide general information regarding Japanese Visa. ※ The hotline will not connect you to the Embassy's Visa Section.

 If you need to contact the Embassy in regards to pending visa application, please contact the Embassy directly during office hours.

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page