top of page

What to do if you have an unexpired visa and you have to renew your passport?

Updated: Jul 18, 2019


I recently applied for a Japan Visa last June 2019 and gladly I was approved for a single entry. My only problem now is if I can still use my existing passport since it's not suitable for what they call the " 6-month validity rule". I know that there are many of you who are also confused about this policy and I am here to mention what I discovered and learned after contacting the government agencies.


Whenever I have uncertainties when it comes to my plans, I always make sure to either contact the institutions, businesses etc. through their social media page, email or over the phone to compare their replies.



Frankly speaking, there are instances that customer representatives or employees working at the same company don't have matching resolution on each of your concern or answers are different from the email and over the phone and I always anticipate that could happen.


Here are my queries and the answers from the government agencies I talked to.


Scenario: I will travel to Japan in September 2019 and my passport will expire in February 2020 (My passport is not acceptable for the 6-month validity period). I wanted to know if I can still use my passport and if I am fit to travel even if it is less than 6 months. I also asked them what to do if I have unexpired visa (single/multiple entry) and I have a new passport renewed.





Email: "We advise you to renew your passport so that there will be no problem regarding your passport."


Update as of July 18, 2019: I went to Bureau Of Immigration and they said that no need to transfer or re-stamp your new passport. It is only applicable for foreigners. I also called them again today, they informed me that no need to transfer anything and just show the old passport with the unused visa. In short, I wasted my time for nothing.

Q: How about the visa that I haven’t used yet? Can I show my old passport with a stamped visa and the new passport?

A: "You can re-stamp your visa at our Main office." I called BOI (Bureau of Immigration) Window 22 to clarify the purpose of re-stamping and here's what they told me. Re-stamping means they will re-stamp your new passport with the latest arrival date from your old passport for FREE. No need to pay anything. I was advised to go to their main office before 12 noon since they have a cut off time. Upon checking their website and Facebook page they open early at 7:00 am.


As per the representative at window 22, you could be held by the immigration if you don't have a stamp on your new passport.


I will make a video once I receive my new passport and after I visited their office this month.


Japan Embassy I also asked Japan Embassy what to do regarding this situation and here's what they informed me.


They advised me to just present the old passport with the stamped Japan Visa and the new passport to the immigration officer.


You don't need to get a new visa stamp since it is not yet expired.





I contacted the agency through Twitter for faster response. Please see their reply below: "Hi Travmagnet! If you applied for renewal and you still have valid visas in your old passport, you just have to present your old passport with your new passport if you will be travelling. " "No. You should not tear the pages of your old passport since only the cover and the data page will be punched."

"The Bureau of Immigration has a standing order disallowing overseas travel when a passport’s validity is less than six months. For further clarifications you may contact the Bureau of Immigration: Website: (link: http://www.immigration.gov.ph/) immigration.gov.ph Facebook: (link: https://www.facebook.com/officialbureauofimmigration) facebook.com/officialbureau… Trunkline: 465-2400"


16 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page